GARDJA General Congress – GGC

The GADJA Congress is the General Governance Forum of all the structures and the rank and file of the organization and membership to meet deliberate and take decisions.

This is the highest decision making body of individual, organizational and associate members in the media profession, who make broad policy decisions, programmes and activities to guide the boards policies and programmes development and oversight responsibilities over the implementation structures and for the smooth running of the organization.

They have to endorse nominations of board members from the various stakeholders before they become board members. They have to recommend the Head of the GARDJA Secretariat to the board for its approval and appointment, approve the board’s policies, plans, programmes and reports.

GGC Committees

There are 13 different committees of members in the GADJA General Congress:

Geographic Committees

There are 4 Geographic Committees. These are Southern Zone (Gt. Accra, Volta and Eastern) Middle Zone (Ashanti and Brong Ahafo), Western Zone (Central and Western) and Northern Zone (Upper-East, Upper-West and Northern).

The Geographic Committees are fashioned around climatic, vegetative and Food characteristics of the Zones. Thus we focus on the special agricultural and rural opportunities, challenges and needs in the specific geographical Zones in our reporting and Organizational activities.

Thematic/Sectoral Committees

In each Zone and Overall we also have 9 Thematic or Sectoral Committees on Print media, TV, Radio, PR, Marketing, Communication, Photography ,Internet and Social media, Gender which also pursue their specialities.

GGC Executive Committee

The Committee Chairs form the GGC Executive Committee, which chooses its President at Every Annual Congress. The Proposals from the committees feed into the GGC Executive Committee, whose work feed into the overall oversight role of the Board.

The Board’s policy guidelines are used in the execution work of the GGC Executive Committee through the committees in the Zones and Regions and their respective zonal secretariats which are also part of the National Secretariat. Thus there are mutual checks and balances.


Board consisting of representatives of Journalists, Media Organizations, Farmers and Agricultural Cooperatives and Farmer based-organizations, private commercial farmers, other agricultural value chain actors, agricultural, environmental and rural development public sector, rural infrastructure organizations, environmental organizations, Research and academic Institutions, Civil Society, ,Funding/development Partners and others.

The board develop policies and programmes for the running of the Association and exercise oversight on the implementing structures. The Board is presided over by a President, and has a Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer and a member as the Board executive committee. There are other board committees.